Children's Stories

by Oscar Wilde

Early in his literary career Oscar Wilde published two collections of children’s stories: The Happy Prince and Other Tales, published in 1888, and A House of Pomegranates, published in 1891. The two books present two slightly different sensibilities, and though stories like “The Happy Prince” and “The Selfish Giant” have grown into timeless children’s classics, the darker tales told in A House of Pomegranates remain less well known.

person AuthorOscar Wilde
language CountryIreland
api GenreChildren's Literature, Fairy Tales
copyright CopyrightPublic domain worldwide.
camera_alt Book coverThanks to Canva
book_online EbooksProject Gutenberg
description ScansInternet Archive
headphones AudioLibrivox | Internet Archive
auto_stories Read online1. The Happy Prince and Other Tales
-- Read by Joy Chan--
This collection of fairy tales has delighted both children and adults since it was first published in 1888. It contains five stories, "The Happy Prince", "The Nightingale and the Rose", "The Selfish Giant", "The Devoted Friend", and "The Remarkable Rocket". These stories are generally sad, with a moralistic message.

2. A House of Pomegranates
-- Read by NoelBadrian--
A House of Pomegranates is a collection of fairy tales that was published in 1891 as a second collection for The Happy Prince and Other Tales (1888). 
This collection is often seen as a much darker and sinister twin to The Happy Prince and Other Tales. Wilde once said that this collection was "intended neither for the British child nor the British public." Behind these tales are deeper themes portraying Wilde's subtle cynicism of the world and his love of aesthetics.